The best waffle recipe

image

you have no idea. getting waffles perfect is NOT easy. good grief! unfortunately i’ve been exposed to rubbery waffles, dense waffles, limp and floppy waffles, eggy waffles, pale and unappetizing and horribly insipid waffles. waffles, in other words, that look like they could line the soles of a pair of sport shoes perfectly. but NOT TODAY–for i have made the perfect waffle recipe!

this is the first waffle recipe i have and it looks like it might just be my last. it creates a beautifully golden bronzed waffle with crisp burnished pockets, and inside–a creamy buttery and incredibly fluffy light layer, soft and cottony, dreamily rich. it’s magic i tell you. and like any other magic tricks, this one has its own tips and tricks too which you NEED to follow, unless you want to be traumatised by the list of horrid floppy creations above.

image[1]

first of all, credits have to be given to mr Alton Brown, from whom this recipe was adapted from. you can watch his waffle episodes of Good Eats here and here (pt 1 and 2). mr Brown has played an integral part in my culinary education, which has a foundation based on the likes of Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa show, Jamie Oliver’s 20 and 30 Minute Meals shows, and his Good Eats show (and of course some Iron Chef America, from which i developed an ability to guess what each chef would make after a quick glance at the ingredients, oops)(what can i say, i used to be a devout Food Network Asia watcher). mr Brown delivers culinary knowledge and the intricate physics (sometimes metaphysics) of food through humorous and witty dialogue and expressive experiments, diagrams and models, with a fair bit of history, sock puppets, and a litany of bizarre characters that accompany throughout his crusades. a lot of what i know today i owe to his shows, which are the only type of science i am and probably will ever be interested in. unfortunately Good Eats has come to an end, but his shows are ones that you can return to again and again–no one gets tired of Alton Brown, c’mon!

anyway, back to waffles. an integral part of their success is whipping the protein with the fat component aka the egg and the oil/butter, pouring the wet INTO the dry instead of the other way round, and very, very important–NO OVERMIXING! once everything is folded in, walk away. do not touch it. put down your spatula, and give your waffle batter some SPACE. the 5 minutes you need to leave it for allows the gluten to relax and for the baking powder and soda to activate, building a better waffle. if you overmix…this could make excellent car tire material.

also, promise me one thing–do NOT use pancake and waffle batters interchangeably, for the love of Pete. they are not! interchangeable! well at least you can NOT use a pancake batter for a waffle iron, it will turn out disastrous. please do not try it. waffle batters on pancake irons may leave you with a less than desirable product, but it /may/ not be as bad as the latter. so keep this warning in mind, and please keep your pancake batter away from your waffle iron.

at any rate, this recipe creates a lumpy, thick batter. cooking times vary with the model and type of waffle iron, so please refer to your instruction models on instructions for cooking. these are by far the best waffles i’ve ever made, and i can foresee myself returning it to it many, many times. i mean a thick, beautifully fluffy soft inside and a crisp and crackly outside,with pockets suitable for lots of good mahogany maple syrup and rich creamy peanut butter–what more could you want? i dumped loads of fruit and a gorgeously velvety peanut butter chocolate ganache on top, and it made a splendid breakfast. my type of mornings!

image[2]

 

the best waffle recipe

makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup flour

(the best here is all purpose, but i used 1/4 cup all purpose and some oat+buckwheat, it turned out great)

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/4 tsp baking soda

-1 eggwhite (or 1/2 an egg)

-1/2 tbs coconut oil/melted butter

-1/4 tsp vanilla

-1 tbs maple syrup/honey

-1/4 cup yogurt

-1/4 cup milk of choice

Sift the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl. In another bowl, whisk the eggwhite and oil/melted butter till frothy before adding the vanilla, sweetener, yogurt and milk. Make sure the wet ingredients are all fully mixed before pouring it into the dry ingredients and then using a wooden spoon/spatula (NOT a whisk) to mix everything together. Once everything is just incorporated, STOP MIXING. It should be thick and lumpy, lumps are perfectly fine. Leave it for 5 minutes, and heat up your waffle iron during this time. Once heated up, grease your waffle iron and cook the batter according to manufacturer’s instructions. My waffle iron required 2.5 minutes on each side over the stovetop to cook and made two waffles, but this differs according to each  model.

chocolate peanut butter ganache

Ingredients:

-1 tbs cocoa powder

-3 tbs water

-peanut butter

-maple syrup/sweetener, to taste

This is a purely eyeballed recipe so I can’t give exact measurements, but it goes like this: mix 1 part cocoa powder with 1 part water till it forms a paste, and then add 2 parts more water till you get a rather thin cocoa mix. Add peanut butter 1/2 tbs at a time, stirring vigorously, till it thickens up and forms a glossy, shiny and velvety smooth ganache. Add sweetener to taste and stir, and you are done!

Standard

27 thoughts on “The best waffle recipe

  1. Oh. It's Sarah says:

    Asdfgjk your pictures are so dang perfect *___* your instagram has inspired me to start flipping pancakes and practice taking pictures again. Thank you fellow 15 year old

  2. oh my am I chuckling so hard at the moment from all your exclamatory remarks and ever-so-realistic descriptions (can still hear those punctuations pinging in my head) Wishing you the best of Easters and for the week ahead!

  3. Your personality is seriously so cute omfg. And these waffles are so adorable too augh those little bear designs are actually the best things ever – as is this recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us lovely xx

  4. radiantsteps says:

    Hi there! Thank you so much for sharing with us such great recipes! Just wanted to ask, where did you find coconut oil from in sg, and how much was it? I’ve been meaning to use it but I can’t find it! 😦 also, does it leave a coconutty taste? Thanks!:)

    • hello, unrefined coconut oil has the most distinct coconutty flavor, whereas refined coconut oil does not have any. i got mine from a small health mart, I can’t really remember what it’s called!

  5. I made these for breakfast today and they were amazing!!! I’ve tried many waffle recipes, healthy and unhealthy, and these are hands-down the best! Crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside. I made the ganache too which was perfect in addition to the strawberries and kiwis that I served the waffle beside. Thanks for my new go-to recipe!

  6. E says:

    Hi, I came over via Instagram, congrats on the feature! I’m over twice your age but I know very little about food–and I’ve got kids to feed too. Well am here to learn. 🙂

  7. louisaalbers says:

    I found your IG account by accident and I just have to visit your blog. I love your picture so much, it does make me hungry whenever I see all that picture though :))
    Oh I have a question for the waffle recipe. What kind of waffle maker do you use? the electric one or stove top (that waffle iron thingy…)?

  8. Hahahaha “if you overmix…this could make excellent car tire material.” really made me laugh! You’re a clever artist and writer. 🙂 Also, I don’t have a waffle iron so I never even try to make waffles, but I had no idea there was so much intricacy involved! Yikes. And Alton Brown is sooo clever and helpful. Nothing like visual+audio learning! Have a beautiful day fellow blogger from all the way across the globe 😀

  9. Hey! I just wanted to let you know that an article has been written about you on Huffington Post (France) and Glamour Paris! It’s in French though, but if you need help for the translation, you can contact me!

    have a nice day, xx
    Ali

    • i’ve seen them–i can more or less read them, as i’ve learnt french for 1 year! thank you so much for notifying me though, it’s way too kind of you Ali!

  10. Elaine says:

    I absolutely love your pictures!! Are you using vsco cam? May I know which effect you used for this picture?

  11. Hello hello,
    My name is Lorenza and I am also 15 years old. I discovered your blog because I found you in Instagram and I wanted to tell you that I love it. I want to make all of the recipes and see every single photo!!!
    I have a baking blog and I have been writting for two years, it is now a very important part of my life because it becomes part of you routine, doesn’t it?
    I live in Bogota, Colombia so we are far far away but I would love to meet you one day. Please visit my blog!!! (even though it is in Spanish)
    You and your blog are wonderful and I wish all the success in the world.
    Your friend,
    Lorenza

  12. Hello hello,
    My name is Lorenza and I am also 15 years old. I discovered your blog because I found you in Instagram and I wanted to tell you that I love it. I want to make all of the recipes and see every single photo!!!
    I have a baking blog and I have been writting for two years, it is now a very important part of my life because it becomes part of you routine, doesn’t it?
    I live in Bogota, Colombia so we are far far away but I would love to meet you one day. Please visit my blog!!! (even though it is in Spanish)
    You and your blog are wonderful and I wish all the success in the world.
    Your friend,
    Lorenza

  13. acertainpoohbear says:

    Accidentally clicked reply…so not used to this system 😛 (sorry elaine)

    Not sure if you already tried this, but using some cornflour/corn starch (i think rice flour works too) give you that crisp exterior. Buttermilk can get you the fluffy richness inside the waffle 🙂

Leave a Reply

