fast food: raw citrus fig and walnut bliss balls

Screen Shot 2014-05-29 at 5.46.44 PM

Well, I’m back! It’s now the end of my semester, which means 1) a month of holidays!! 2) therefore a lot of pancakes and oatmeal 3) therefore a very happy girl 4) also MORE BAKING so look forward to more goodies coming to this space 😉

In other news, my Instagram has reached over a 100K followers, which is simply amazing! I can’t really comprehend it, honestly. I tried to imagine 100K of you guys standing in front of me and my mind simply could not process it. 100K of you who still love me (I hope) despite bad jokes and bad puns and weird facts about whale flatulence+entirely too many pictures of chocolate related food (fun fact: if you look at my Instagram feed, there is at least ONE chocolate photo for every single row. Yeah, that’s entirely how much of a chocoholic I am. Also fun fact 2: since the start of the year I might have gone through 3 350g boxes of cocoa…and might be on my 4th one currently…yeah I think I’m digging my own grave I should stop here)

But seriously guys. This is really wow. To celebrate, I have something really exciting lined up for the weekend– a special recipe, and a guest post! So do stay tuned…especially for the guest post.

At any rate, back to these bliss balls. Did you know my mum dug out a MAGIMIX from our cupboard that I had no idea existed all this while long? Apparently it was a wedding gift, which was severely neglected and therefore retired to the back of the cupboard out of my sight…I’m so so glad it reemerged though! (she wanted to make carrot cake and did not like the idea of shredding several carrots through a box grater, so lugged out this incredible bit of machinery that I DID NOT KNOW EXISTED crying but now bring on the food processor recipes!) With a food processor, these babies come together in 5 minutes really–so, so easy and so, so good! They have a sweet, gooey soft caramelly flavor from the figs with a roasted fragrant nuttiness and crunch from the toasted walnuts, and the wholesome flaky oats bind them together. I love the little zing of bright, fresh lusciousness the bit of orange zest and juice brings–these little balls can be rolled in any toppings you like, and are so incredibly delicious and great for an energy boost.

 

raw citrus fig and walnut bliss balls

Ingredients:

-4 or 5 dried figs, chopped

-1/4 cup rolled oats

-1 cup walnuts, toasted in a pan/oven

-zest and juice of 1/2 a large orange

-2 tbs maple syrup

And that’s it! Process all ingredients together in a processor until it comes together, roll into 1 tbsp balls and toss in desired coatings. You can eat them right away or let them chill in the fridge to firm up a little, and you’re done!

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “fast food: raw citrus fig and walnut bliss balls

  1. Michael says:

    These sound divine! I love making fruit and walnut balls 😀
    Though technically not raw if you toasting the nuts 😉

Leave a Reply

