Guest Post: Casey of Casey’s Wholesome Kitchen!

photoHey guys! While I slave away at school and consume massive amounts of chocolate to stay sane, I’ve gotten the lovely Casey of @wholeandhealthy fame on Instagram, from her blog Casey’s Wholesome Kitchen to say hello and sprinkle my blog with some special sparkle Casey dust so it doesn’t shrivel up into some withered…dried…prune. Figgy. Thing. Obviously my brain is the shrivelled withered dried prune figgy thing now because I’ve spent the last few days studying till I could almost feel the words and facts minnowing at the walls of my brain. Which is probably why I should let Casey take over now because if not I will probably ramble into the next few years. OKay, soon.

But seriously, Casey! Do you see the banner above? Her peanut butter pancakes always make me drool because FLUFF and chocolate and peanut butter I mean what more can you ask for? And then her breakfast pizza with those scoops of berry banana ice cream–heaven. She’s also famous for her tofu mousses like this, this and this–along with her gorgeous nana icecream and smoothie bowls. Plus she is not a lazy/stingy old scrooge like me and updates her recipes on the quick, so everyone can set to trying out her works of art. And that’s just one thing about Casey–she is, also, a fabulous friend who is kind, compassionate, my pancake soul sister (we feel the stacks in our soul), and total Harry Potterhead as well! She never fails to drop a caring little note at the bottom of my pictures and her support for everything so far has been amazing, plus she is a constant source of inspiration food and otherwise–I cannot tell you how grateful I am for this fabulous lady. And she’s super talented. And she’s super cute too. And she’s going to share with us not one but TWO recipes today for one of her favourite breakfasts!

Alright, I’ve waffled enough. Here comes Cas, guys!

 


Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 7.12.48 PM

What do you get when you combine peanut butter, chocolate and a tenacious love affair with breakfast? You get me – and also the fabulous author of this blog, my fellow breakfast buddy, peanut butter aficionado, chocolate connoisseur, and Harry Potter enthusiast – Lin and I understand each other completely.

So here’s a little more about me – I’m a poor, obscure, plain and little 21-year-old American (if you get that reference – 4 for you, Glen Coco) who happens to have a love of cooking and eating, reading, photography, and going for long walks on the beach with myself.

But seriously, I’m just a simple girl with a passion for living a healthy, balanced lifestyle by creating delicious, nutritious meals to fuel my second love (after breakfast) – exercise! I’m a weight lifting junkie who just loves to get my body moving, whether it is a simple walk with my pup in the sunshine, or an awesome fitness class at my gym.

So, you may be wondering who I am exactly, and why Lin has featured me as a guest on her beautiful blog. I am the author of Casey’s Wholesome Kitchen and owner of the Instagram account @wholeandhealthy – It’s Casey Rose!  I was so honored and excited when Lin asked me to write a guest post, it’s like my dreams came true! Lin is a constant source of inspiration to me, not only with insanely delicious recipes, but also her attitude toward a positive relationship with food and health and life in general!

Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 7.12.37 PM

My path to health started when I was 12 years old and diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Throughout my entire childhood, I dealt with many stomach-related problems and never had a clear answer. Beginning a gluten free diet made immediate positive changes on my health. However, after struggling with some complications related to my Celiac Disease as an adult, I finally took the steps to clean up my diet, and now try to eat an abundance of wholesome foods that nourish my body naturally. I can finally say I have never felt happier, healthier or more alive!

This transition also made me realize my love for cooking. I started experimenting with new breakfasts, and after many failed attempts in the kitchen, I created one of my signature (and favorite) breakfasts, Popped Amaranth Porridge! Amaranth is a tiny, naturally gluten free grain that is incredibly high in plant-based protein, fiber healthy carbs and fats. Cooking unpopped amaranth as porridge takes a significantly longer amount of time compared regular oats, so I never made it for breakfast. However, I regularly popped amaranth on my stovetop and added it to fresh salads for a little more bulk, and I loved the nutty flavor and crunch it added. One night as I was contemplating the following morning’s breakfast (the life of a breakfast fanatic), the idea to pop the amaranth first and THEN cook it like a normal porridge just popped into my brain – no pun intended. I barely slept with my excitement, and in the morning, the porridge worked out EXACTLY the way I hoped it would! Creamy, rich, warm perfection – I knew I had a winner. Below is the recipe for my Basic Vanilla Popped Amaranth Porridge! I will also include the recipe for my favorite flavor, Spiced Gingerbread! You can find many other delicious flavor ideas on my blog!

 

Untitled1

 

spiced gingerbread popped amaranth porridge

gluten free, vegetarian, dairy free

You will need:

  • 3-4 tbsp dry, unpopped Amaranth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 banana
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp blackstrap molasses
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1-2 tsp maca powder(optional but highly recommended)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

To pop your amaranth, heat a large sauce pan that has a lid over high heat so the bottom becomes extremely hot. You’ll know the pan is hot enough when a few drops of water dance around the bottom.

Using one tablespoon at a time, pour your amaranth into the pan and immediately cover with the lid. Shake the amaranth around the pan, and it will begin to pop. It’s important that you pour the amaranth into a bowl as soon as it finishes popping, because it will start to burn if you leave it in the pan. Repeat with 3 more tablespoons of the amaranth.

Cut your banana in half and mash one half completely into a puree. Place the water in a small sauce pan and turn on the heat to medium high. Once the water is warm but not boiling, pour in the popped amaranth. Stir with a fork until all the grains soak up water. Next, add your chia seeds, molasses, ginger, maca powder and vanilla extract, and stir to combine. Add your mashed banana and stir again. Add your egg whites and turn down the heat to medium low. Stir the porridge continuously to incorporate the egg whites, which helps make it super creamy and fluffy.

Pour into a bowl and top with whatever you like! I highly suggest dried figs or white mulberries, as well as peanut butter! Cacao nibs would be a great addition as well.

Untitled

 

basic vanilla popped amaranth porridge

gluten free, vegetarian, dairy free

You will need:

  • 4 tbsp (or 1/4 cup) dry, unpopped Amaranth
  • 1 – 1.25 cups water
  • 1 banana
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

To pop your amaranth, heat a large sauce pan that has a lid over high heat so the bottom becomes extremely hot. You’ll know the pan is hot enough when a few drops of water dance around the bottom.

Using one tablespoon at a time, pour your amaranth into the pan and immediately cover with the lid. Shake the amaranth around the pan, and it will begin to pop. It’s important that you pour the amaranth into a bowl as soon as it finishes popping, because it will start to burn if you leave it in the pan. Repeat with 3 more tablespoons of the amaranth.

Cut your banana in half and mash one half completely into a puree. Place the water in a small sauce pan and turn on the heat to medium high. Once the water is warm but not boiling, pour in the popped amaranth. Stir with a fork until all the grains soak up water.

Next, add your chia seeds. They will soak up some of the water while it cooks. Add your mashed banana and stir again. Add your egg whites and turn down the heat to medium, or medium low. Stir the porridge continuously to incorporate the egg whites, which helps make it super creamy and fluffy. In the last couple minutes of cooking, add the vanilla extract. This helps maintain the vanilla flavor.

Continue to stir until the egg whites cook and the porridge has thickened. Pour into a bowl and top with whatever you like!

 

Once again, a huge thanks to Lin for being such an amazing human being, an amazing friend and a constant source of inspiration! Hope you all enjoyed learning a bit more about me and my favorite recipes! 🙂

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

