Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (gluten free, vegan)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hellooooo there.

Peanut butter and chocolate go so well together, in case you didn’t know. They’re such a cute couple. Look at them. I ship it.

In case you can’t already tell from the copious amounts of fullstops I have unwittingly used above and have only realised now that they sound really weird, I’m kind of brain fried. During school weeks, I live for pancake fridays and spent my time at home trying to do work, listening to emo songs, and writing angsty teenage prose. And during weekends, I just spend the whole day on the couch with my work piled on my lap, in the end only completing about 1/2 of it if I’m lucky in between generous amounts of, uh, procrastination. Yeah–not the most emotionally or psychologically healthy way to cope with stress, but I’m still learning, and I’m struggling through with the help of lots of lovely people. Friends, online or in real life, have helped a lot. Changing my mindset has also helped. Little things during school help, like finding the amount of work I have so unfunny that it’s really funny, which makes class tolerable. Do I sound like I’m whining? Oh dear, I hope I don’t. Because I’m not, really! I’m not! Okay, maybe I am, a bit.

But honestly–despite the 1000000 essays I’ve had to write, and I may only be slightly exaggerating, I’ve learnt how to grit my teeth and y’know, roll with the punches. I’m so grateful for all the friends and the little straws God has tossed to me to hang on to through this long and painful squeeze to the holidays. And now, even with lots of revision looming for the impending death doom I’m going to DIE help  end of year exams, I’m grateful for brownies. These brownies. Babies. So good, and come together in ONE food processor. How many food processor?? ONE! Only one to clean!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I took so many pictures, that’s how photogenic and cooperative these brownies were. Photography isn’t easy, okay! I have so much to learn about Lighting and Frames and Cropping and Positioning and many other things I’m sure there is a legit name for but I am too much of a Photography Peasant to know in entirety. Have light streaming in? Too bad, the photo may just turn out with this horrid blue tint and your food looks disgusting! Arranged everything nicely and take nice shots? Too bad, the cropping means you have to sacrifice some really, really gorgeous creases in the bedspread/the end of your spoon/the full perimeter of your teacup! Do I sound deranged twattering on about this? Honestly though, appreciate the photo. So much work goes behind it, although it looks like I casually took a shot and ooh, magic! Pretty! Nah, I wish it was so. And to make things a little more complicated, not that they need it, my windows are purple tinted. So, unless I open them wide and full–which can be a problem when it rains–the photo looks like it’s in the shadow of Barney’s butt. But these brownies? Beautiful dark chocolaty goodness, with that vibrant golden rich swirl of peanut butter. Even the Barney Butt Tint can’t compete with that.

I think I might have just weirded everyone out. I hope you’re still here. Hi, I’m sorry for whining again about my windows. Please hang on for the recipe, and the visuals.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

These taste WHOLESOME–but in a good way. Not like “I am made of more or less wholewheat flour and water and I am dry as cardboard”/”I am thick and gummy and stick like glue in your throat because I have too much bananas to compensate for the lack of oil!” wholesome, but like you can taste that it is good for you, BUT it is still delicious. So delicious. Imagine rich, dark chocolate in a fudgy slab of dense, velvety crumb with the mellow sweetness and sugar of banana and the slight caramel golden ribbon of dates, along with the robust grit and nuttiness the oats lend, the lovely creamy salt of rich peanut butter, and a subtle floral hint of vanilla. And like that wasn’t enough, more peanut butter on top. It’s an amazing combination, and I love this best chilled. Overnight, the banana caramelly sweetness and chocolate flavor and the peanut butter deepen in depth and richen–the salt gives a new dimension to the sweetness, which develops a new, smoother lightness, and the chocolate becomes even richer and fudgier. It’s amazing. And this can be made gluten free as well, with gluten free oats–perfect for those of you out there who can’t take the gluten.

Unf. Brownies. So good.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Make them, and devour them. Everything’s better with chocolate.

 

chocolate, banana and peanut butter swirl brownies (gluten free, vegan)

You will need:

-2 cups oats (gluten free if you wish)

-1/4 cup cocoa

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-3 tbs coconut sugar/raw cane sugar/normal sugar

-pinch salt

-3 super ripe bananas

-4 medjool dates

-1/2 cup crunchy/smooth natural peanut butter

-3 tbs coconut cream/soy yogurt

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1/4 cup dark chocolate chunks (if you wish)

-2 tbs peanut butter

-1 tbs coconut oil

Line an 8 inch brownie tin with parchment. Blitz the oats, cocoa, baking powder and soda, salt, cinnamon and coconut sugar together in a food processor till it has become a flour. Add the banana, dates, peanut butter, coconut cream/soy yogurt and vanilla and pulse till you get a thick batter. If you wish, you can add the chocolate chunks here and pulse briefly to incorporate. Scoop this into the brownie pan and even out with an offset spatula. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and gently melt the peanut butter and coconut oil over a low heat, till thick and melted. Drizzle this in blobs over the brownie batter and swirl in with a knife. Bake for about 30 minutes, checking at the 25 minute mark–a toothpick should emerge with moist crumbs clinging, but not with raw batter. Let it cool completely outside before refridgerating, preferably overnight. Cut into 9 squares and enjoy.

Standard

12 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (gluten free, vegan)

  1. Peppi says:

    You know, these brownies were soooo good! Thank you, thank you, thank you for putting this recipe online so I can read it all the way from Finland and make these!
    I get what you’re going through whit school, I’ve got my matriculation examination and I feel like I’m lost somewhere under the books (’cause there’s a lot of them..) But these saint-like brownies made my Saturday morning loads better, thank you again for that. 🙂
    And hey, I really like your instagam! Y

  2. Peppi says:

    You know, these brownies were soooo good! Thank you, thank you, thank you for putting this recipe online so I can read it all the way from Finland and make these!
    I get what you’re going through with the school, I’ve got my matriculation examination and I feel like I’m lost somewhere under the books (’cause there’s a lot of them..) But these saint-like brownies made my Saturday morning loads better, thank you again for that. 🙂
    And hey, I really like your instagram! You take real awesome pictures.

  3. S x says:

    These look absolutely beautiful!!! I would love to try this out, I was wondering if i could substitute the coconut cream/soy yogurt for greek yogurt? So glad i discovered you on instagram! x

  4. Pingback: Vegan Cookie Dough |

Leave a Reply

