Buckwheat Double Chocolate Pancakes+Frothy Cacao Caramel Almond Mylk

Hey friends! It’s got to be a short one today because I have a ton of Chinese and Math to do and stress over…but honestly, I can’t complain. 2015 has been brilliant for me so far. Not that I’ve soared along the air gathering stars and positive events left right like a Mario game on whack, but that each day has been quietly infused with blessings and so many things to be thankful for. Maybe I’m just starting to realise their presence and they’ve been here all along, or maybe 2015 really is off to a nice start–but at any rate, I’m glad. If you follow my Instagram you’d see that I have made a jar out of the massacred cute animal calendar Instagram was kind enough to gift me as a New Year’s present, and that everyday I relentlessly rip out a cute pooch/cute cat and write down everything I’m thankful for on it before folding it up and throwing it into the jar. It used to be a honey jar, but I think what it holds now is much sweeter.

I’ve realised something this year: good days aren’t perfect. Maybe there is that perfect day out there where everything goes right, your hair streams behind you like a shampoo commercial as you walk and sunlight hits your face at those movie-cinematography-chic angles, you score full marks on your test and strike the lottery and find out that your crush, indeed, has been loving you all this while and make a perfect pancake stack to end off your beautiful, perfect, awesome, flawless day with a beautiful, perfect, awesome, flawless meal. But for me at least good days don’t go 100% smoothly–there are always bumps, a little bit of blackness, maybe more than a little bit. It’s whatever makes it a good day that counts though, and manages to quash or at least matter more than the bad things that might’ve happened.

I’m honestly beyond grateful. I’ll work hard this year, study hard, do the best I can. I’ve been blessed with a lot and sometimes I forget that, but I’m determined to show that I won’t take everything I have for granted anymore.

 

This stack was taken as my second Pancake Sunday of 2015! Now I don’t have pancakes for breakfast anymore–these were a lovely lunch because I’ve devoted my mornings to church. Thanks to some friends, I’ve started going to church. It was scary at first, but there was something about singing worship and giving thanks and praise in a group that I’d missed so much. In a strange way, it was oddly familiar and foreign–but it felt like going home.

Buckwheat double chocolate pancakes–these fluffy babies are studded with pockets of oozing, sticky dark chocolate and made with the gritty dark but fragrant and nutty buckwheat flour. They rise beautifully when flipped to reveal a soft crumb infused with the rich flavor of chocolate and gently molten chocolate, with the golden spiciness of cinnamon in the background. I had them with a mound of peanut butter as usual, and a jar of frothy cacao-caramel almond mylk. I’ve had soy milk for the most of my life and had only recently tried almond milk in Sapporo of all places–and I love it. I whizzed this up in my blender to produce a caramelly-sweet frosted glass of thick, silky, chocolaty velvet mylk; rich and smooth and luxuriously decadent despite the short ingredient list, and with an incredible cap of soft creamy foam that gave an impressive milk moustache.

 

Buckwheat Double Chocolate Pancakes+Frothy Cacao Caramel Almond Mylk

You will need:

For the pancakes

-1/4 cup buckwheat flour

-1 tbs coconut flour

-1 tbs rice flour/oat flour

-1 tbs cocoa/carob/cacao

-1/2 tbs Purple Balance Sweet Chocolate (optional but recommended)

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp cinnamon (or to taste)

-2 flax eggs (2 tbs ground flax seeds+6 tbs water left overnight, or at least 30min)

-1 large banana, mashed

-130-150ml almond milk

-1 tbs maple syrup/coconut sugar/rice syrup

-dark chocolate, chopped (as much as you wish)

In a small bowl, mix together your dry ingredients. In a larger bowl, whisk the wet ingredients together till combined before adding the dry ingredients. Mix till just forming a thick pancake batter, adding a little bit more milk if you like thinner pancakes. Fold in the chopped dark chocolate, and let rest for 5 minutes while heating a pan on low heat. Once the pan is just hot enough such that a drop of water hisses and evaporates immediately upon contact, grease with coconut oil/grapeseed oil and dollop on your pancake batter. Cook pancakes till edges dull and turn opaque and bubbles form in the centre before flipping and cooking for another 2-3 minutes. Remove from the pan and continue the process until the batter is done.

For the mylk

-240ml almond milk, unsweetened

-2-3 ice cubes or frozen banana chunks (optional)

-1 tbs date paste, or 2 soft and gooey medjool dates (or maple syrup/coconut sugar/rice syrup)

-1/2 tbs Purple Balance Sweet Chocolate (optional but recommended)

-1/2 tbs cacao

-few shakes cinnamon

-1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste (optional)

-1 tsp maca (I use Organic Burst)

Blend all ingredients together in a blender for 1-2 minutes until thick and frothy. Pour into a chilled glass and serve.

Standard

Leave a Reply

